Music NewsVideos

SCORPION CHILD Release New Music Video For “Reaper’s Danse”

On June 10, 2016 Texan classic rockers SCORPION CHILD released their highly anticipated sophomore album, Acid Roulette. In celebration, the band has released a music video for “Reaper’s Danse“. Created by Costin Chioreanu (SPIRITUAL BEGGARS) of Twilight 13 Media, the video can be viewed on the Nuclear Blast YouTube Channel!

If you missed any of the album trailers, track video, or music videos, you can view them below:
Video Trailer 1Aryn discusses cover artwork
Video Trailer 2 : Aryn & Chris talk about new members and involvement in the record
Video Trailer 3: Aryn discusses how he developed the album concept
Video Trailer 4: Aryn & Chris discuss the songwriting process
Track Video: Moon Tension
Lyric Videos: “My Woman In Black” and “She Sings, I Kill

Acid Roulette chronicles the life trials of a traveling man who was imprisoned for a murderous crime,” comments Aryn . “He was forced into confessing by his wife and her wealthy lover so that they could live out their romance without him in the picture. Once sentenced to a life’s term, he goes through extreme emotions dealing with the only woman he’d ever loved taking everything he’d known as “real” away from him. He has to create and redefine his own reality accompanied by its roller coaster of emotional reflection. He experiences many different psychological changes throughout the years and escapes by means of drugs and his writings. These songs become his diary of a madman. The focus is mainly on the seasons in a year, for each song represents a month. The songs exist to drive home the full power of human emotion as many albums do, however, Acid Roulette wires us into those extremes.”

Once again, the band recorded at The Bubble in Austin, TX with Chris “Frenchie” Smith (The Answer, And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead…) who produced and arranged the band’s self-titled, first full-length. Acid Roulette was mixed by Dave Schiffman (The Mars Volta, Dead Meadow, Jane’s Addiction, Rage Against The Machine). The album’s artwork, pictured above, was a collaboration by Aryn Jonathan Black, photographer Max Taylor and graphic designer Rob Kimura.
SCORPION CHILD have become one of the most electrifying and
dynamic  bands around. This album puts them right to the forefront.”

– Malcolm Dome (Classic Rock, Metal Hammer)
“Three years after their eponymous debut landed them on metal megalabel Nuclear Blast, Austin’s SCORPION CHILD returns with Acid Roulette. In that time, they’ve replaced both drummer and bassist and swapped a rhythm guitarist for an organist, but their Zeppelin-meets-Rainbow sound remains intact. Metallic riffs twist over pummeling drums as Aryn Jonathan Black alternates between crooning and a raspy howl.”

“If radio was still interested in breaking new bands rather than propping up dinosaurs I’d say SCORPION CHILD was a gold record already in the bag, but don’t let the lack of mainstream exposure fool you: this is some of the catchiest, most immediately accessible guitar rock you’ve heard since glam dominated Dial MTV back in the day…instantly infectious”
Metal Injection

Track list and formats as follows:
1. She Sings, I Kill
2. Reaper’s Danse
3. My Woman In Black
4. Acid Roulette
5. Winter Side Of Deranged
6. Séance
7. Twilight Coven
8. Survives
9. Blind Man’s Shine
10. Moon Tension
11. Tower Grove
12. I Might Be Your Man
13. Addictions


Side One (Autumn):
1. She Sings, I Kill
2. Reaper’s Danse
3. My Woman In Black

Side Two (Winter):
1. Acid Roulette
2. Winter Side Of Deranged
3. Séance
4. Twilight Coven

Side Three (Spring):
1. Survives
2. Blind Man’s Shine
3. Moon Tension

Side Four (Summer):
1. Tower Grove
2. I Might Be Your Man
3. Addictions

Photo Credit: Rodrigo Fredes

Acid Roulette is the return of Aryn Jonathan Black with his rich, electrifying vocals interweaved with the groove laden riffs of guitarist Christopher Jay Cowart and the sauntering bass work of Alec Caballero Padron. SCORPION CHILD are completed by Jon “Charn” Rice (drums) and AJ Vincent (keyboards). More impassioned than ever, SCORPION CHILD has something to prove.

Scorpion Child is:
Aryn Jonathan Black – Vocals
Christopher Jay Cowart – Lead Guitar
Jon “Charn” Rice – Drums
Alec Caballero Padron – Bass
AJ Vincent – Keyboards

Visit SCORPION CHILD online at
Like –
Follow –
Watch –


AntiHero Magazine

AntiHero Magazine is made up of a staff of enthusiastic music journalists and photographers that offer the latest metal/rock related music news, exclusive interviews, album reviews, show reviews, Film and DVD reviews, concert photography, as well as information on music gear, festivals, tours, culture, booze and more! - Author: AntiHero Magazine

Related Articles

Back to top button