AlbumsMusic NewsPress Releases

BOYFRNDZ to release new album, ‘IMPULSE,’ on May 27


Pre-Order Impulse Here!

March 8, 2016 – Los Angeles, CA – Austin, TX experimental prog-psych quartet BOYFRNDZ will return with their 3rd full-length album, Impulse, on May 27th via Brutal Panda Records. In anticipation, the band is streaming their haunting new song “Hiatus” today. Album pre-orders are available now at and

Stream “Hiatus” at 

BOYFRNDZ has exploded onto Austin’s burgeoning indie scene over the last several years with a series of EPs, singles, live recordings and two full-length albums, All Day Pass and Breeder. The band also toured relentlessly, performing with acts like PALMS, …And You Will Know Us By The Trail of Dead, glassjaw and Future Death among others, and at number of festivals including SXSW, Fun Fun Fun and Treefort, all while garnering critical acclaim from,, Outburn,, Ghettoblaster, Exclaim! And more.

Now the band returns with their most mature and expansive material to date. Recorded at Uniform Studios with producer Jeff Zeigler (War On Drugs, Kurt Vile, Nothing), Impulse is a cerebral and emotive sonic journey. Complete with celestial melodies, propulsive rhythms and the soaring, ethereal falsetto of vocalist/guitarist Scott Martin, BOYFRNDZ have created a dark, cerebral work of chilling atmosphere and timeless soulful majesty.

“We’re always trying to push ourselves into new territories, to make new stylistic choices. It’s a really heady, layered album for us. The songs were driven more by capturing a mood and atmosphere than anything else. It was a really fun place for us to experiment, sonically.” – Scott Martin (vocals/guitars)

Past Praise:

“Boyfrndz drift into celestial spacey rock territory a la The Mars Volta. Perfect for putting on a certain mesmerizing screensaver and just tripping out.” –


“Features propulsive rhythms and atmospheric shredding …, while evoking the progressive math-core tendencies of like-minded artists Omar Rodríguez-López and Bosnian Rainbows.” – Exclaim!

“Unashamed to be tagged progressive, Boyfrndz shatter windows with an eruption of melody, power, and emotion – honed by enough craft to keep the colors from running.” – Austin Chronicle

“There’s a noisy psych and shoegaze foundation on the genre-bending music of the Austin four-piece’s recently released album, Breeder, but it’s cut through with experimental sounds that straddle the border between ambient rock and electronic — a disputed territory often colloquially referred to as Radiohead-istan.” –

“Late-era Mars Volta by fans of Torche and Jesu, and for lovers of riveting, occasionally bluesy songcraft” –

Impulse Track List:

  1. Ghosted
  2. Silhouette
  3. High and Tight
  4. Hiatus
  5. Little Secret
  6. Eyes Up
  7. Bane
  8. Gone
  9. Going Under
  10. Anything Is Everything

BOYFRNDZ Tour Dates:

Mar 19 – Austin, TX – Wonderland (Goodnight Wonderland SXSW Showcase w/Yonatan Gat, Moon Honey, Shmu)

For More Information:


AntiHero Magazine

AntiHero Magazine is made up of a staff of enthusiastic music journalists and photographers that offer the latest metal/rock related music news, exclusive interviews, album reviews, show reviews, Film and DVD reviews, concert photography, as well as information on music gear, festivals, tours, culture, booze and more! - Author: AntiHero Magazine

Related Articles

Back to top button