Review by Gareth Franklin

There’s something pleasingly familiar about the opening to the first song here on Massive Wagons‘ new album, Welcome to the World. I don’t mean that it’s something you’ll have heard before, but it feels like something you should have heard. “Nails” actually reminds me of recent Y&T, which for me is a pretty big compliment as they’re one of my favourite bands. But while sounding like them, it also sounds new and almost fresh – which given the way more mainstream music is going at the minute is a ‘very good thing.’

  • Artist: Massive Wagons
    Album Title: Welcome to the World
    Release Date: 29 April 2016
    Label: Off Yer Rocka Recordings
    • Nails
    • Tokyo
    • Welcome to the World
    • Ratio
    • Shit. Sweat. Death
    • The Day We Fell
    • Fighting Jack
    • Jodie
    • Aeroplane
    • Fee Fi Fo Fum

Tokyo,” by contrast, reminds me more of Blink 182. Well, before they went a bit rubbish anyway. Yet again with this song, it feels new. This seems to be a bit of a theme through this album – it sounds like each song has been inspired by a different genre or band. I’ve heard albums like this before, where each song is so different to the one before that it all sounds a bit – discordant – would be a good word, I think.

Here, however, the impressive guitar work and drumming draw each song together, giving them a running theme that other bands haven’t quite been able to grasp – even well-known ones. “Ratio” is probably my favourite song on the album, though it’s a tough choice. I’m not entirely sure why it’s my favourite though. I think it’s because it reminds of rock anthems – you know, the songs that get everyone in the crowd singing along at a gig.

When a song’s called “Shit Sweat Death,” there’s a certain expectation put on it.  Luckily, this song hits those expectations and then some. It’s more difficult to figure out who the inspiration for this song is, though. At times, I get a bit of Alter Bridge, a bit of Aerosmith, and some other bands that escape me when I try to think of them. This, though, encapsulates all that is great about this album – so many disparate influences all being melded together into one album that is greater than the sum of its parts.

The lyrics to “Tokyo” say “You won’t play us on the radio.” I beg to differ.

About Author

AntiHero Magazine is made up of a staff of enthusiastic music journalists and photographers that offer the latest metal/rock related music news, exclusive interviews, album reviews, show reviews, Film and DVD reviews, concert photography, as well as information on music gear, festivals, tours, culture, booze and more! - Author: AntiHero Magazine